PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteEverything Xiaomi is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
For most Mac-first creators in 2026, Final Cut Pro is the best overall choice if you want a fast Apple-silicon workflow and a one-time purchase. Choose DaVinci Resolve if you need a genuinely capable free professional editor, Adobe Premiere if your work depends on Creative Cloud or mixed Mac-and-Windows teams, iMovie for a first edit, and CapCut Desktop for rapid caption-heavy social videos. The right pick depends on your footage, collaboration needs, export targets, and willingness to pay once or subscribe.
The prices below are dated US references from September 2026. Apple, Adobe, Blackmagic Design and CapCut can change prices, requirements, feature availability and regional plan terms.
General shopping ads
Which Mac video editor is best in 2026?
Final Cut Pro leads for Mac-only professionals and YouTubers who value Apple media integration, Magnetic Timeline editing and a perpetual license. DaVinci Resolve’s free edition is the strongest no-cost option for serious editing, color and finishing. Premiere is the practical choice for agencies, Creative Cloud users and projects shared with Windows editors. iMovie removes nearly all setup friction, while CapCut Desktop is built around fast social publishing.
| Editor | Best for | Mac and Apple-silicon position | Free plan or trial | US price reference | Main limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Final Cut Pro | Mac-first professionals and YouTubers | Optimized for the latest Apple silicon; macOS 15.6 or later | No free plan or trial stated in the cited product information | $299.99 one time (September 2026 snapshot) | Apple-platform dependency; some features require Apple silicon |
| DaVinci Resolve | Free professional editing and color | Mac version with integrated edit, color, VFX, motion and audio pages | Free edition | Free | Free tier is limited to 8-bit formats up to 60 fps and Ultra HD 3840×2160 |
| DaVinci Resolve Studio | High-end formats, AI and finishing | Mac version with the same integrated workflow | Paid edition; no trial stated | $236 promotional display, previously $295 (official page; volatile) | Paid upgrade needed for 10-bit, above-4K and many advanced AI/effects features |
| Adobe Premiere | Creative Cloud teams and mixed-OS handoffs | Supports macOS Sonoma 14 and later; Adobe recommends Apple silicon | No free plan or trial stated in the cited information | $22.99/month on an annual plan (September 2026 snapshot) | Subscription billing and higher storage/performance demands for demanding 4K work |
| iMovie | First edits, school projects and family videos | Mac editor with Apple support documentation for libraries and sharing | Free | Free | Less advanced color, audio, collaboration and finishing depth |
| CapCut Desktop | TikTok, Reels, Shorts and quick captions | Desktop Mac app focused on social publishing | Free tier | Pro listed at $19.99/month (September 2026 snapshot) | Export limits, AI allowances and plan terms vary by country |
| CapCut Pro | Frequent social creators needing expanded tools | Desktop workflow with CapCut’s social and speech features | Paid tier; free tier remains available separately | $19.99/month reference (September 2026 snapshot) | Regional availability and feature allowances must be checked at purchase |
1. Final Cut Pro: best overall for Mac-first creators
Apple describes Final Cut Pro as a complete environment for editing, audio, motion graphics and color grading. Its Magnetic Timeline, automatic captions, Magnetic Mask, Smart Conform and broad format support make it a particularly coherent choice when your footage, libraries and publishing workflow stay on Apple hardware.
Shopping ad
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What it does well
- Apple-silicon optimization targets responsive playback and finishing on current Macs.
- AI-assisted features include automatic captions, Magnetic Mask and Smart Conform.
- Editing, audio, motion graphics and color grading live in one application rather than separate tools.
- Magnetic Timeline editing lets clips stay connected as you change timing, which suits fast-moving solo projects.
Mac requirements and cost
The Mac version requires macOS 15.6 or later, 8 GB of memory (16 GB recommended) and 7.2 GB of free disk space. Apple notes that some features require Apple silicon. Toolradar’s September 2026 US snapshot lists a $299.99 one-time purchase, so you are not committing to a mandatory monthly subscription.
Limits to consider
Final Cut Pro is dependent on Apple platforms, so it is a poor fit when collaborators need the same project on Windows. The cited product information does not specify a free plan or trial. Check the current Mac App Store listing for the exact edition, price and any trial terms before buying.
2. DaVinci Resolve: best free professional option
DaVinci Resolve combines editing, color correction, visual effects, motion graphics, audio post and photo editing in one application. Its free edition is unusually deep, making it the best starting point when you want professional concepts without an upfront license fee.
Free-edition capabilities
- Edit on a conventional timeline, then move into dedicated color, Fusion visual-effects, Fairlight audio and delivery pages.
- Blackmagic says the free edition supports virtually all 8-bit formats up to 60 fps and Ultra HD 3840×2160.
- It includes collaboration features and HDR grading, useful for teams and modern displays.
- The single application reduces round-tripping between separate color, VFX and audio programs.
Mac use and limitations
Resolve is available as a Mac application and is designed for demanding finishing work, so storage, memory and GPU capability matter more than they do for iMovie. The interface has more specialized pages and terminology than a beginner editor. The free tier’s 8-bit, 60-fps and Ultra HD ceiling is the key technical boundary for creators working with 10-bit, high-frame-rate or above-4K sources.
Who should choose it
Choose the free edition if color control, HDR work or a long-term professional workflow matter more than the shortest learning curve. It is also a sensible way to learn a workflow that can later open Studio-only tools without changing applications.
3. DaVinci Resolve Studio: best for advanced formats and AI finishing
Resolve Studio is the paid edition for creators who outgrow the free version’s format and feature ceilings. It retains the same edit, color, Fusion and Fairlight architecture while adding Blackmagic’s higher-end processing and AI tools.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Shopping ad
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What Studio adds
- DaVinci Neural Engine features for AI-assisted work.
- Additional effects, noise reduction, text-based editing and Magic Mask.
- Support for 10-bit video up to 120 fps and beyond 4K, which addresses common high-end camera and delivery requirements.
- More extensive finishing options for demanding color and visual-effects work.
Price and availability
Blackmagic’s official page currently displays Resolve 21 and a Studio price of $236 discounted from $295. That display is promotional and can change, so treat it as a dated reference rather than a guaranteed price. No trial terms are stated in the supplied product information.
When the upgrade is justified
Studio is relevant when your camera records 10-bit material, your timeline exceeds Ultra HD, you need high-frame-rate delivery, or noise reduction and AI masking save substantial manual work. If your projects remain 8-bit 4K or below at 60 fps, the free edition covers the documented core limits.
4. Adobe Premiere: best for Creative Cloud teams and mixed operating systems
Premiere makes the most sense when editing is part of an Adobe-centered pipeline or when projects regularly move between Mac and Windows. Its ecosystem is a practical advantage for agencies and editors who hand work to After Effects, Photoshop or other Creative Cloud users.
Requirements for a Mac workstation
Adobe’s current requirements support macOS Sonoma 14 and later. The minimum listed memory is 8 GB RAM; Adobe recommends an Apple-silicon Mac with 16 GB of unified memory, a fast internal SSD and an additional high-speed drive for media. Those recommendations become especially important with 4K, multicamera timelines, large caches and multiple applications open together.
Cost model
Toolradar’s September 2026 US snapshot lists Premiere at $22.99 per month on an annual plan. Billing structure and regional pricing can differ at checkout. The cited information does not establish a free plan or trial, so check Adobe’s current offer rather than assuming one is included.
Trade-offs
A subscription can be economical when you already pay for Creative Cloud and need frequent updates, but it is a continuing expense for a single-editor setup. Premiere also benefits from deliberate media-drive planning; keeping source files, previews and cache on fast storage is more reliable than filling the system drive.
Shopping ad
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
5. iMovie: best for a first Mac edit
iMovie is the simplest free starting point for family videos, school assignments and short social clips. Apple’s support materials cover creating and fine-tuning a movie, adding video and sound effects, sharing finished work and moving an iMovie library to an external hard drive.
Why beginners choose it
- The basic workflow is easy to understand: import media, arrange clips, add titles or music, then share.
- Apple’s guided support covers common tasks without requiring a professional editing vocabulary.
- A free application removes the cost barrier for a first project.
Where it stops
iMovie is not intended to match the advanced color, audio, collaboration, visual-effects and finishing depth of Final Cut Pro, Resolve or Premiere. It is best for straightforward edits rather than complex multicamera, HDR or agency handoff work. Apple’s external-drive guidance is useful when a growing library threatens the internal disk.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors6. CapCut Desktop: best for fast social video
CapCut Desktop is built around rapid publishing for TikTok, Reels, Shorts and similar platforms. Its official desktop page highlights auto captions, caption templates, speech recognition, text-to-speech, voice enhancement, noise reduction, background removal and quick resizing.
Standout tools
- Auto captions and speech recognition reduce the time needed to make spoken clips accessible.
- Caption templates, text-to-speech and voice enhancement target short-form, mobile-first formats.
- Background removal, noise reduction and resizing cover common social finishing tasks without a long effects setup.
- The desktop app gives creators a larger editing workspace while retaining a template-driven approach.
Free tier and Pro pricing
CapCut offers a free tier. Toolradar’s September 2026 comparison lists CapCut Pro at $19.99 per month, subject to regional variation. The supplied product information does not establish a universal export quota, watermark rule or AI allowance; those terms can differ by country and account, so read the in-app plan details before committing.
Best use case
Choose CapCut when speed, captions and platform-specific formatting matter more than a deep color-managed or collaborative post-production pipeline. Long-form documentaries and complex finishing are better served by Resolve, Final Cut Pro or Premiere.
7. CapCut Pro: best for frequent creators who need expanded social tools
CapCut Pro is the paid tier for creators who use CapCut regularly and need access beyond the free allowance. It uses the same desktop-oriented editing approach, with captions, speech tools, background removal, voice enhancement and resizing at the center.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Shopping ad
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What the paid tier is for
The value is convenience rather than a different editing philosophy: frequent social publishers can keep templates and speech features in one workflow instead of moving between separate captioning and audio utilities. Exact AI credits, export rules and included assets are not stated as universal figures in the available product information.
Price and caveat
The September 2026 US reference is $19.99 per month. Regional pricing, taxes, promotional offers and feature allowances can change, so confirm the subscription screen for your country. Keep the free tier installed if you are comparing whether the paid allowances materially reduce your production time.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How should you choose a video editor for your Mac?
Start with the decision that will be hardest to change later: platform, billing and footage requirements. Use this sequence before downloading anything.
- Identify your delivery platforms. For TikTok, Reels and Shorts, prioritize captions, speech tools, resizing and templates. For long-form YouTube or client delivery, prioritize media management, audio control, color and reliable exports.
- Check your source footage. Resolve’s free edition documents an 8-bit, 60-fps and Ultra HD ceiling. If you shoot 10-bit, above 4K or high-frame-rate material, compare that footage against Studio, Final Cut Pro or Premiere requirements before building a project.
- Choose the billing model. iMovie and Resolve’s free edition cost nothing; Final Cut Pro uses the dated one-time price reference above; Premiere and CapCut Pro use subscriptions. A perpetual purchase can cost more at checkout but avoids recurring fees.
- Match the collaboration environment. Premiere is the clearest fit when Adobe tools, agencies or Mac-and-Windows handoffs are central. Resolve includes collaboration in its free feature set. A Mac-only workflow makes Final Cut Pro more attractive.
- Measure the learning curve honestly. iMovie and CapCut reduce setup time. Final Cut Pro adds professional depth while remaining Mac-centric. Resolve exposes more specialized pages, and Premiere rewards familiarity with Creative Cloud.
- Plan storage before recording. Adobe recommends a separate high-speed drive for media, and Apple documents moving an iMovie library to an external hard drive. For 4K, HEVC, multicamera or long projects, use a fast external SSD with room for camera originals, proxies, cache and backups.
- Confirm current terms. Prices, macOS support, AI allowances and promotional discounts are volatile. Check the maker’s current product, requirements and pricing pages for your country immediately before purchase.
What Mac hardware and storage does video editing need?
Software choice cannot compensate for a full system disk or slow media volume. Adobe’s guidance calls for 16 GB of unified memory on Apple silicon for Premiere and an additional high-speed media drive. Final Cut Pro lists 8 GB memory as a minimum and 16 GB as recommended, with 7.2 GB of free disk space for the application itself.
Those application figures do not represent the space needed for a real project. Camera originals, render files, proxy media, audio assets and backups can consume far more. A fast external SSD is the practical baseline for 4K, HEVC, multicamera or long-form work; keep at least one separate backup rather than treating the working drive as an archive.
Frequently asked questions
Can I move an iMovie library off my Mac?
Yes. Apple’s support material specifically documents moving an iMovie library to an external hard drive. Keep the drive connected whenever you open that library, and use a separate backup if the projects are important.
Shopping ad
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Which editor is best for HDR grading on a budget?
DaVinci Resolve’s free edition includes HDR grading, making it the lowest-cost option documented here for that task. Its other free-tier limits still apply, including the stated 8-bit, 60-fps and Ultra HD ceiling.
Is a subscription necessary for Mac video editing?
No. iMovie and the free edition of DaVinci Resolve require no paid plan, while Final Cut Pro is listed as a one-time purchase in the September 2026 US snapshot. Premiere and CapCut Pro use subscription pricing in that snapshot.
Can a Mac editor collaborate with Windows users?
Premiere is the most directly aligned choice when a project routinely crosses Mac and Windows or moves through Adobe agency workflows. Resolve also includes collaboration features, while Final Cut Pro is best suited to teams that can stay within Apple’s ecosystem.
Why do CapCut prices and AI limits look different between accounts?
CapCut’s plan terms can vary by country and account, including export limits and AI allowances. The published $19.99 monthly Pro figure is a dated US reference, so use the plan screen shown for your location as the final authority.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I move an iMovie library off my Mac?
Yes. Apple documents moving an iMovie library to an external hard drive. Keep that drive connected when opening the library and maintain a separate backup for important projects.
Which editor is best for HDR grading on a budget?
DaVinci Resolve’s free edition includes HDR grading, making it the lowest-cost documented option for that task. Its free-tier format limits still apply.
Recommended Free Tools
Is a subscription necessary for Mac video editing?
No. iMovie and DaVinci Resolve’s free edition are no-cost options, and Final Cut Pro is listed as a one-time purchase in the dated US comparison. Premiere and CapCut Pro use subscriptions in that comparison.
Can a Mac editor collaborate with Windows users?
Premiere is the clearest fit for projects crossing Mac and Windows or moving through Adobe agency workflows. Resolve also includes collaboration features, while Final Cut Pro is oriented toward Apple-based teams.
Why do CapCut prices and AI limits differ between accounts?
CapCut plan terms can vary by country and account, including export limits and AI allowances. Confirm the plan screen for your location before subscribing.
More shopping ads
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →




