
SpellMe
SpellMe is a web app for interactive spelling practice at home or in classrooms.
What SpellMe is
SpellMe is a web app for interactive spelling practice at home or in classrooms. Learners can practice in Regular, Mastery, and Story modes, though account tier determines access to some modes. Mastery changes difficulty in response to performance, and hints can focus on letters a learner misses. Users can create their own word lists or use curated phonics and festive lists; registered users can access the curated library. Its dashboard tracks accuracy and word mastery, while teacher accounts include classroom management and student progress monitoring. Premium features include hints, image-based list creation, generated lists, and AI progress summaries. The free Basic plan provides five lists of up to ten words each, more than 300 curated phonics lists, and Regular Mode. Advanced costs £12 a year, and Premium costs £20 a year; both include a 14-day free trial. SpellMe supports browser-based devices including Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android, but requires an internet connection. Guest users can create one list of up to five words, and their progress is saved locally on the device.
Good
- Mastery practice adapts to performance
- Custom and curated word lists available
- Dashboard tracks accuracy and word mastery
- Teacher accounts include classroom management
- Free Basic plan includes Regular Mode
Watch out
- Requires an internet connection
- Guest users are limited to one five-word list
- Some practice modes depend on account tier
Who it suits
SpellMe may suit students, parents, teachers, and homeschoolers seeking structured spelling practice. Teacher accounts add tools for classroom management and student progress monitoring.
Verdict
SpellMe offers a free Regular Mode plan, with more modes and tools on paid tiers. Its internet requirement and guest-list limit are worth considering before use.
Plans and prices
From SpellMe's own pricing page, checked 14 Oct 2026.
| Plan | Price | What it gives you |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free | Regular Mode · 5 word lists · 10 words per list · Free |
| Advanced | £12 a year | Basic features · 20 words per list · Mastery Mode · unlimited word lists · curated phonics lists · advanced progress tracking · £12/year; 14-day free trial |
| Premium | £16 a year | Advanced features · Story Mode · smart spelling hints · smart progress analysis coming soon · automatic phonics list creation coming soon · £16 first year, then £20/year; 14-day free trial |
| Teacher Advanced | Priced on request | Regular and Mastery Modes · unlimited word lists · student progress tracking · teacher dashboard · classroom login · Contact us |
| Teacher Premium | Priced on request | Teacher Advanced features · Story Mode · smart hints · classroom progress reports coming soon · Contact us |
The facts
Each one read from SpellMe's own pages, with the date it was checked.
What it does
- Adaptive hints
- Difficulty changes how much of a word is revealed in hints, and Mastery Mode adjusts difficulty from spelling accuracy.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Adaptive practice
- Mastery Mode progressively changes difficulty based on performance, while hints can focus on letters the learner misses.checked 29 Sep 2026
- AI list generation
- Premium and Teacher accounts can generate new lists matching a selected spelling pattern or theme.checked 14 Oct 2026
- AI tools
- Premium features include hints, image-based word-list import, generated lists, and AI progress summaries.checked 29 Sep 2026
- Analytics consent
- Google Analytics cookies are described as optional and activated only after explicit consent through the cookie banner.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Audience
- The maker describes SpellMe as suitable for students, parents, teachers, and homeschoolers.checked 29 Sep 2026
- Automatic spellcheck
- Saved custom lists are checked against a selected UK or US English dictionary, with an option to override warnings.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Children's data
- SpellMe says it does not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13, or under 16 in the EU, without parental consent.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Connectivity
- SpellMe is a web app and requires an internet connection.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Curated content
- Registered users can practice with curated phonics and festive word-list libraries.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Custom lists
- Users can create lists by entering words, and the lists can be used in all spelling modes.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Documentation depth
- The official help center documents setup, modes, lists, progress, settings, XP, accounts and FAQs.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Gamification
- Registered users earn experience points for correct and incorrect answers, completed lists and daily challenges.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Guest limit
- Guest users can create one custom word list with up to five words, and guest progress is saved locally on the device.checked 29 Sep 2026
- Guest storage
- Guest progress and settings are stored locally and do not synchronize between computers.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Image import
- Premium users can upload an image of a word list for automatic transcription into a list.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Licence
- The terms reserve SpellMe's intellectual-property rights in its software, design and educational tools; no open-source licence is stated.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Limit: age guidance
- An independent comparison says SpellMe does not state target ages on the reviewed site.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Limit: offline use
- The independent comparison lists SpellMe as browser-based and requiring a connection, so it does not provide offline play.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Limit: product maturity
- An independent comparison characterizes SpellMe as a small, young product.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Limit: spelling variant
- An independent comparison says the reviewed SpellMe site does not state which English spelling variant it follows.checked 14 Oct 2026
- Limit: teacher pricing
- Teacher Advanced and Teacher Premium pricing is not published and requires contacting SpellMe.checked 14 Oct 2026
Where it runs
- Device support
- The maker says it works on most browser-based devices, including Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android.checked 29 Sep 2026
The company
- Maker development date
- The maker says the first basic test version was uploaded around January 2025 and public Beta 2 launched in September 2025.checked 14 Oct 2026
The full review of SpellMe
Overview
SpellMe is an online spelling-practice app for learners working at home or in classrooms. It is best suited to families and educators who want custom or phonics-based lists alongside progress tracking. Its free Regular Mode makes it easy to start, while Mastery, Story and richer list tools require a paid plan.
Key features
Practice and word lists
Regular Mode anchors the free plan, with phonics instruction, dictation and corrective practice supporting spelling work. Mastery Mode progressively adjusts difficulty to performance, and hints can focus attention on missed letters; that adaptive approach makes Advanced more compelling than a simple list-and-practice option for learners who need targeted repetition. Story Mode adds another format, but is reserved for Premium and Teacher Premium.
Users can build custom lists, while registered users can draw on curated phonics and festive lists. The capacities are consequential: Basic permits five lists of up to 10 words each, Advanced removes the list-count cap but allows 20 words per list, and Premium supports 100 or more words per list. Guest access is much tighter—one list of up to five words—so it is a limited tryout rather than a practical setup for ongoing use.
Progress, classroom use and privacy
A learner dashboard tracks accuracy and word mastery. Teacher accounts add classroom management and student progress monitoring in a dedicated dashboard, making the teacher tiers more relevant to organized classroom use than a family subscription. Premium adds AI tools: smart hints, image-based list generation, automatically generated lists and progress summaries. These tools can reduce list preparation and help interpret progress, but they sit above the core practice rather than being necessary to use Regular Mode.
SpellMe requires an internet connection and has no offline access, which rules it out for practice in places without reliable connectivity. Guest settings and game data are stored locally and, according to the privacy policy, are not sent to SpellMe servers; Google Analytics cookies activate only with user consent. The app works through browsers on Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS and Android, offering broad device reach without offline use.
Pricing
Basic — free: five lists, up to 10 words per list, 300+ curated phonics lists and Regular Mode. This is a sensible starting point for a learner using short lists, but the per-list ceiling and lack of Mastery or Story make it restrictive for growing vocabularies or more varied practice.
Advanced — £12 per year: 20 words per list, unlimited lists, Mastery Mode and advanced progress tracking, with a 14-day free trial. It is the practical step up for families who want adaptive practice and many lists without needing long lists or Story Mode.
Premium — £20 per year: lists of 100+ words, Story Mode, smart spelling hints, image-to-list generation, smart progress summaries and automatic list creation, also with a 14-day free trial. The extra £8 per year over Advanced buys substantially larger lists and the AI and Story features; it is best for users who will make use of those tools rather than simply needing more lists.
Teacher Advanced and Teacher Premium — custom pricing: Teacher Advanced includes Regular and Mastery Modes, unlimited lists, student progress tracking, a teacher dashboard and easy classroom login. Teacher Premium adds Story Mode, smart hints and full classroom progress reports, described as coming soon. These plans address classroom management rather than household list limits, but pricing is not set out as an annual amount.
Platforms
SpellMe is available on web and supports Android, iOS, Linux, macOS and Windows through browser-based devices. Its internet requirement means platform breadth should not be mistaken for offline flexibility.
Who it's for
SpellMe suits parents, homeschoolers and teachers seeking structured spelling practice with custom lists and visible progress. Basic fits learners who can work within short lists and Regular Mode; Advanced suits those needing adaptive practice and unlimited list creation; Premium is the stronger fit for longer lists, Story Mode and automated tools. It is a poor match for anyone who needs offline practice, and guest access is too limited for sustained use.
Pros and cons
- Pros: Free Basic includes 300+ curated phonics lists and Regular Mode, giving learners a meaningful starting point without a subscription.
- Pros: Advanced combines unlimited lists with performance-adjusted Mastery Mode, addressing both list organization and targeted practice.
- Pros: Premium raises list capacity to 100+ words and bundles Story Mode with list-generation and progress tools.
- Cons: Basic caps lists at 10 words and excludes Mastery and Story, so learners needing more varied practice face a paid upgrade.
- Cons: Internet access is required and offline use is unavailable, limiting where practice can happen.
- Cons: Guest users get just one five-word list, which is too small for ongoing practice.
Alternatives
For a broader shortlist, browse Spelling Apps. Consider Spell Up if you want a freemium option available on Android, iOS and web. Spelling Shed is another freemium Android, iOS and web choice; its free tier includes several activities with seven-day histories, including tests, hive games and challenges. Choose Spelling.Live if a credit-based model suits you: free sign-up credits provide 200 credits, expiring after 90 days without a practice session, and a 400-credit pack costs £4.00 once.
PenPoints is a free Android and iOS alternative. Spelling Boost is worth considering for Android users seeking free core audio dictation tests, custom lists, handwriting input and progress tracking. Better Speller is a freemium option for macOS, iOS and Android. Choose Spello if you prefer a paid family plan: Families costs £10 for the first year only, then £20 per year, for up to four children with unlimited practice and a daily cap per child of 10–60 minutes. SpellingJoy is a freemium alternative for web, iOS and Android.
Verdict
SpellMe is a strong fit for families and teachers who want spelling practice to scale from free phonics lists to adaptive or classroom-focused tools. Choose it for the combination of list flexibility, progress tracking and tiered practice modes. Look elsewhere if offline access is essential, or if the guest allowance is all you intend to use.
Getting started
- Visit https://spellme.app/ in a browser on a supported device.
- Create an account to access the curated word-list library, or try the guest option.
- With a guest account, create one custom list of up to five words.
- Choose Basic, Advanced, or Premium based on the included modes and list limits.
- Teachers can contact SpellMe about Teacher Advanced or Teacher Premium.
Limits worth knowing
Basic allows five word lists with up to ten words per list and includes Regular Mode. Advanced allows 20 words per list and Mastery Mode; Premium allows 100+ words per list and adds Story Mode. Both paid learner plans include a 14-day free trial.
Questions
Is SpellMe free?
Yes. Basic is free and includes five word lists of up to ten words each, 300+ curated phonics word lists, and Regular Mode.
What do the paid plans cost?
Advanced costs £12/year and Premium costs £20/year. Each includes a 14-day free trial.
Which devices can run SpellMe?
SpellMe supports browser-based devices including Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android. It is a web app and requires an internet connection.
What does Premium add?
Premium includes 100+ words per list, Story Mode, Smart Spelling Hints, image-to-word-list generation, Smart Progress Summary, and automatic word-list creation.
Are there teacher plans?
Teacher Advanced and Teacher Premium are listed with pricing by contacting SpellMe. Teacher accounts include classroom features such as student progress monitoring and a teacher dashboard.
What can a guest do?
A guest can create one custom word list with up to five words. Guest progress is saved locally on the device.
Alternatives to SpellMe
- 1
Spelling.Live
Free planAndroidiOSWebAPI8.0From £5.99 a month - 2
Spelvo
Free planAndroidWeb7.6From 9.90 MYR a month - 3

Squeebles Spelling Connect
AndroidiOSWebmacOS7.6From £29.99 a year - 4

Spello
AndroidiOSWebmacOS7.5From £10 a year - 5
Spelling Shed
Free planAndroidiOSWeb7.2$2.99 one-time - 6
SpellingJoy
Free planAndroidiOSWeb7.1From $2.99 a month
