
Scrivener
Scrivener is a long-form writing app for macOS, Windows and iOS, designed for projects that can be composed in sections of any size.
What Scrivener is
Scrivener is a long-form writing app for macOS, Windows and iOS, designed for projects that can be composed in sections of any size. Writers can keep research materials such as PDFs and web pages beside their draft, and import Word, OpenOffice, plain text, Final Draft, images, PDFs, movies, sound files and web pages. A project window can display up to four documents at once. Screenwriting tools handle script formatting and support printing and Final Draft export; nonfiction writers get footnotes, research libraries and MLA, APA and other common templates. Writing History shows how much has been written each day. Scrivener also has publishing tools, version history and offline mode, but does not support real-time collaboration. A free trial is offered, and there is no recurring payment unless a user chooses another platform or a major update. Single-platform licences are listed at $59.99, paid once for macOS or Windows and $23.99, paid once for iOS; an all-platform licence is $121.93, paid once. Scrivener launched in 2007 and is made by Literature & Latte Ltd., founded in 2006 and based in Cornwall, UK.
Good
- Compose projects in sections of any size
- Keep PDFs and web pages beside writing
- Screenwriting formatting with Final Draft export
- Offline mode and version history
- No required recurring payment
Watch out
- No real-time collaboration
- Licences are platform-specific unless buying all three
- Major updates may require payment
Who it suits
Scrivener suits novelists, screenwriters, nonfiction writers, students, academics, journalists and others working on substantial writing projects. It can also suit writers who want research beside their draft or offline access.
Verdict
Scrivener brings long-form drafting, research materials and specialized tools for screenwriting and nonfiction into one project. Its licences are paid upfront, with an optional trial and occasional paid major updates.
Plans and prices
From Scrivener's own pricing page, checked 19 Sep 2026.
| Plan | Price | What it gives you |
|---|---|---|
| macOS licence | $59.99 a month | Perpetual licence for macOS |
| Windows licence | $59.99 a month | Perpetual licence for Windows |
| iOS licence | $23.99 a month | For iPhone and iPad |
| iOS license | $23.99, paid once | Single-platform iOS license; no further payment unless choosing another platform or major update. · paid upfront |
| Windows license | $59.99, paid once | Single-platform Windows license; no further payment unless choosing another platform or major update. · paid upfront |
| Mac license | $59.99, paid once | Single-platform macOS license; no further payment unless choosing another platform or major update. · paid upfront |
| All three platforms | $121.93, paid once | Includes macOS, Windows, and iOS licenses. · paid upfront |
| Free trial | Free | Free trial is offered; the supplied text does not state its duration or limits. |
The facts
Each one read from Scrivener's own pages, with the date it was checked.
The company
- Company history
- Scrivener launched in 2007.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Company name
- The company is Literature & Latte Ltd.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Founded
- 2006checked 23 Sep 2026
- Headquarters
- Cornwall, UKchecked 23 Sep 2026
What it does
- Export formats
- It can export to Word, PDF, Final Draft, and plain text.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Import formats
- Imports include Word, OpenOffice, plain text, Final Draft, images, PDFs, movies, sound files, and web pages.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Long-form writing
- It is designed for long writing projects and lets users compose text in sections of any size.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Major update policy
- Major paid updates are occasional, more than two years apart, with discounts for existing users.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Non-fiction support
- It supports footnotes, research libraries, and MLA, APA, and other common templates.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Offline mode
- Yeschecked 19 Sep 2026
- Pricing model
- Pay upfront for the licenses and platforms you need instead of paying a subscription.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Publishing tools
- Yeschecked 19 Sep 2026
- Real-time collaboration
- Nochecked 19 Sep 2026
- Research tools
- Research materials can be kept within reach beside the writing, including PDFs and web pages.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Screenwriting support
- Scriptwriting features handle formatting, with printing and Final Draft export available.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Side-by-side documents
- The editor can display up to four documents at once in the same project window.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Subscription required
- No recurring payment is required unless the customer chooses another platform or a major update.checked 27 Sep 2026
- User scale
- The company says Scrivener has millions of downloads and hundreds of thousands of users.checked 27 Sep 2026
- Version history
- Yeschecked 19 Sep 2026
- Writing audience
- It is used by novelists, screenwriters, non-fiction writers, students, academics, lawyers, journalists, translators, and others.checked 27 Sep 2026
Money
- Free plan
- Nochecked 19 Sep 2026
- Free trial
- A free trial is available, but the supplied text does not state its duration or limits.checked 27 Sep 2026
Where it runs
- Mobile apps
- Yeschecked 19 Sep 2026
- Supported platforms
- Scrivener is shown for macOS, Windows, and iOS.checked 27 Sep 2026
Alternatives to Scrivener
- 1

Story Architect
Free planOpen sourceAndroidiOSLinuxmacOS9.2From $4.17 a month - 2

Overleaf
Free planOpen sourceWebAPIExtensionLinux9.1From $8.25 a month - 3

Celtx
Free planAndroidiOSWebExtension9.0From $11.24 a month - 4

Substack
Free planAndroidiOSWebAPI9.0$50 one-time - 5

WriterDuet
Free planAndroidiOSWebLinux9.0From $9.99 a month - 6

Calmly Writer
Free planAndroidWebLinuxmacOS8.6Free plan
