Prologue
Prologue is a self-hosted audiobook player for libraries on Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both.
What Prologue is
Prologue is a self-hosted audiobook player for libraries on Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both. It offers offline downloads, collections, series, bookmarks, a reading list, statistics, and playback history. Listening controls include per-book settings, sleep timers, smart rewind after pauses, Voice Boost, and an equalizer. The maker lists support for iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch, alongside Siri, widgets, and CarPlay. On Apple Watch, listeners can stream books they are reading or have saved to their reading list, download books for offline listening, and use widgets and complications. Prologue says library data stays on users’ devices, and that it does not store or handle Plex or Audiobookshelf passwords; access tokens are stored on-device. It collects pseudonymous usage and Apple Ads attribution data, and uses Sentry for crash reports that may include device and app information. Prologue has a free plan. The App Store listing requires iOS 26.5 or later and lists compatibility with iPad, Mac with Apple M1 or later, Apple Vision, and Apple Watch.
Good
- Connects to Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both
- Offers offline downloads and playback history
- Apple Watch can stream or download books
- Library data and access tokens stay on-device
Watch out
- App Store listing requires iOS 26.5 or later
- Collects pseudonymous usage and Apple Ads attribution data
- Crash reports may include device and app details
Who it suits
Prologue suits audiobook listeners who keep their libraries on Plex or Audiobookshelf and want listening tools such as offline downloads and per-book settings. It may also suit Apple Watch users who want to stream or download books on the watch.
Verdict
Prologue brings playback controls and library organization to Plex and Audiobookshelf audiobook collections, including offline listening on Apple Watch. Check the iOS requirement and its stated data collection before choosing it.
Plans and prices
From Prologue's own pricing page, checked 9 Oct 2026.
| Plan | Price | What it gives you |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | App listed as free; in-app purchases available |
| Prologue for Apple Watch | $4.99, paid once | In-app purchase |
| Premium (Family Upgrade) | $7.99, paid once | In-app purchase; billing period not stated |
| Premium | $9.99, paid once | In-app purchase; billing period not stated |
| Premium (Family) | $17.99, paid once | In-app purchase; billing period not stated |
The facts
Each one read from Prologue's own pages, with the date it was checked.
What it does
- Analytics
- Prologue says it collects pseudonymous usage data and Apple Ads attribution information, but not Plex or Audiobookshelf credentials.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Crash reporting
- The app uses Sentry for crash reporting, which may include device and operating-system information, app version, and a Sentry installation ID.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Credentials
- The maker says it does not store or handle Plex or Audiobookshelf passwords; access tokens are stored on-device.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Integrations
- The app lists Plex and Audiobookshelf as supported library servers.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Library features
- It connects to Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both, and includes offline downloads, collections, series, bookmarks, a reading list, stats, and playback history.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Playback features
- Playback options include per-book settings, sleep timers, smart rewind after pauses, Voice Boost, and an equalizer.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Privacy
- Prologue says library data is stored on users’ devices and it does not store library data on its servers.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Product
- Prologue is a self-hosted audiobook player for Plex and Audiobookshelf.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Support
- The maker directs users to report issues or get in touch from its release page.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Watch playback
- The Apple Watch app can stream books being read or in the reading list, download books for offline listening, and use widgets and complications.checked 9 Oct 2026
Where it runs
- Apple features
- The maker lists iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch support, plus Siri, widgets, and CarPlay.checked 9 Oct 2026
- Platform requirement
- The App Store listing says the app requires iOS 26.5 or later and lists iPad, Mac with Apple M1 or later, Apple Vision, and Apple Watch compatibility.checked 9 Oct 2026
Alternatives to Prologue
- 1

Audiobooks.com
Free planAndroidiOSWeb7.9From $14.95 a month - 2
LibriVox
Free planOpen sourceAndroidiOSWebAPI7.7Free plan - 3
Loyal Books
Free planAndroidiOSWeb7.2Free plan - 4
Playary
Free planAndroidiOSWebLinux7.1Free plan - 5
Sora
Free planAndroidiOSWeb7.1Free plan - 6

Audible
AndroidiOSWebmacOS7.0From $8.99 a month
